A Beautiful Little Shaker Table

IMG_1576Tonight I applied the first finish coat of amber shellac on my new little Shaker end table. I am so pleased with this table. I made this one using 2×4 pine scraps from a workbench that I had recently built. I also used the best material from a 3/4″ shelving board. The drawer is made from a rough cut piece of cedar that I had in the shop.

The table plans were in a magazine article I found online, however the same table and dimensions are in the book “How to Build Shaker Furniture” by Tho. Moser. The article recommended using rabbet joints for the entire drawer. I did a half-blind dovetail on the drawer front and rabbets on the other pieces. The legs are tapered to 5/8″. And, to add to the design of this table, the underside of the top is beveled about 1-1/2″ around the entire piece.

Leave a Reply

